Review: Not Another Happy Ending (2013).

Now, I don’t know if it’s me or a chromosome but I love romantic comedies. Okay, so I wouldn’t pick them over something like A Clockwork Orange (1971) or Bang Bang You’re Dead (2002), and if you’ve never seen the latter you’re missing out, but I do love them. I love their simplicity, their fun and the fact that they are mentally untaxing. This, however, was.

Let me preface by saying that we’re not talking mentally challenging like we’re on the Mensa scale but a lot of things didn’t make sense. For example: Tom (Stanley Weber) is essentially making Jane’s (Karen Gillan) life miserable in an attempt to help her over her writer’s block and she pretty much gets over it by the movie’s end. For a woman who was going to leave Tom’s publishing house for changing the title of her novel, it isn’t consistent. Neither is Jane’s relationship with that screenwriter whose name I forget [a quick google search tells me it’s Willie]. They don’t fit or work as a couple because he’s an arrogant pantie sniffer. Okay I made that last part up but he’s pretty self-involved. So while Weber does a good job of making you not hate him, I really cannot part with my confusion about the whole premise.

However, what does ring true was the father/daughter relationship that evolved out of Gillan and Gary Lewis’s acting. They play the rediscovery and growing pants of trying to reconnect really well and I really enjoyed seeing whether or not they could both overcome their issues with the past. Another relationship that worked really well was the friendship between Tom and Roddy (Iain de Caestecker). If you’re going to make someone’s life miserable, you need a lookout and de Caestecker is so much fun as the school teacher who makes up random bullshit to tell his students. So there are sound parts to this movie but I guess they are buried under the “what the heck” of it all.

Rating: 3 / 5 stars (a high estimate). Most of these stars are for the cast because aside from the bonkers plotline they were pretty solid.

Leave a Reply

