Beauty: The Infallible Stars.

After hearing that Wilkos is now carrying US brand Essence, I knew I had to pop in and grab a little something (a bargain at £1.80) but on my travels I also found 3 L’Oreal Infallible pressed shadows in the pound shop (\o/).

Now, this photo doesn’t do justice to how iridescent the gloss and the latter two shadows are, and the grey shade is a gorgeous matte that would be perfect for liner or darkening up the outer corner/under the eye.

cosmeticshaul1

Clockwise: Essence XXXL Shine lip gloss in 04 Rising Star, L’Oreal Infallible shadow in 006 Purple Obsession,

031 Innocent Turqouise and 020 Pebble Grey.

Swatches:

 

swatches1Clockwise: Same as above.

The gloss, which is literally the barely there wash of pale pink at the top, doesn’t show up as two toned but if you look at it a certain way it has a blue-ish tinge to it which I love. Actually, this isn’t much more than a beautiful shine on the lips but I bought it to go over my favourite everyday lipstick: Rimmel’s Lasting Finish lipstick in Pink Blush (006) and they go together beautifully. The gloss isn’t sticky but rather lets your lips glide together when you rub them but other than that you can’t feel it. I can’t attribute much to the wear of the gloss though but I’ll let you know.

On the other hand, when it comes to the Infallibles if you’re generous with how much you get on your finger these are immediately pigmented and they are just as easy to sheer out as a wash of colour. I wore Purple Obsession, which is so so gorgeous, all over the lid a couple of days ago and it stayed relatively well (with primer) but I wasn’t blown away. I have oily eyelids and oily skin in general so it’s a task to make anything stay — whatcha going to do? That being said, I do think they’re definitely worth picking up if they’re cheap but I wouldn’t break the bank on them

Rating: 3 / 5 stars. The gloss is lovely but it takes a lot to impress me shadow wise. I guess I expected more from L’Oreal.

2 thoughts on “Beauty: The Infallible Stars.

    1. Rae says:

      Sorry for the late reply, it’s been a super busy week and I’ve not had a chance to compose a message.

      I definitely think they’re worth a try but at the same time they’re too pricey for a high street brand. For the price of one shadow in Boots you could purchase a Sleek palette* for one pound more, which for me has the same staying power but more choice. *The Vintage Romance palette is a personal favourite.

      Thank you for taking the time to comment and I will definitely check your blog out, the more beauty blogs the merrier I say! 😀 ❤ xx

      Like

Leave a Reply

