Beauty: First Impressions of Neutrogena’s Oil Free Pink Grapefruit Acne Wash

I have large pores which I keep mostly under control with The Body Shop‘s Seaweed Exfoliator and Clay Mask but I get the odd one here and there. What I don’t have under control is the amount of oil my face likes to exude from said pores and the hormonal break outs that seem to be never ending. I can handle spots but it’s the oil situation that bothers me. Most face washes give me a blissful couple of hours before I start to feel my t-zone slicking up like gel on a bad comb over. Gross. But having done my research, I knew that products containing salicylic acid were the way to go to clear up the last few blackheads and sort out my oil/spot problem. Lots of people recommended Neutrogena as a cheap option compared to other more medicinal based products so I was on the look out for it. Cue trip to my local shopping centre because I also had to buy a new shower gel (Honeymania by TBS, gorge!) and I saw that my pound shop had the Neutrogena Oil Free Pink Grapefruit face wash. For £1. Each. I figured what was the harm in trying it. So I picked up two because last time I found something I liked [Pantene 2 minute conditioning mask for thick hair], it sold out, never to be restocked again. It was a sad time.

Putting my sadness to one side: on to the product.

From the outset and what I’ve read, a lot of people find this to astringent for twice daily use and start to have problems on the third day so I’m probably only going to use this once a day in the t-zone if I’m going to put make up on. I like the smell but it isn’t particularly strong so I don’t really pay too much attention to it. It doesn’t foam a lot either which is nice because I’m terrible for getting things in my eyes and in my hair and generally all over the place. The effect on my skin though is amazing. My nose is soft but not oily, the same goes for my chin but my dry patches from dried out spots is drier so I would only recommend this to those of us who are really oily.

Rating: 3.5 / 5 stars. Great first impression but only extended use will show how effective this wash is. I’ll keep you posted.

Leave a comment