Beauty: First Impressions of Rimmel’s Lasting Finish Nude Foundation.

rimmelcompare

L to R: Rimmel‘s Match Perfection Foundation in 010 Light Porcelain/Rimmel‘s Lasting Finish 25 hour Nude Foundation* in 010 Light Porcelain.

[*I bought this along with a lipstick as part of their 2 for £10 deal in Boots]

On the left is my everyday favourite foundation, we shall call this MPF and the latter LFN for the purposes of this post. With one pump I can cover the whole of my face with MPF and feel like all my imperfections are blurred but still allowing my skin to breathe. Being of a lighter coverage I don’t mind that my freckles still show or  the tiny bit of acne scarring I’ve got because those things don’t bother me.  What I do mind is when a foundation claims to be higher coverage than a lighter coverage foundation and I’ve got to use x3 as much product and I still feel like it’s too light a coverage.

And now a lovely unflattering shot (no filters of any sort, hello enormous pores!) of my face up close so you can see the LFN foundation doing it’s thing.

lfnpic

This is two layers and a bit in places where I felt I needed more coverage.

I promise you my eyebrows don’t look like that in real life, but my nikon picks up the red tones in hair as orange-y.

On with the review and in handy bullet point format for you:

  • I must say LFN foundation is dewy. Very dewy.  I powdered quite a bit with Rimmel’s Stay Matte powder and it couldn’t contain the dewiness. Having oily skin, I immediately felt self-conscious that my face was like one of those terrible oil slicks in the ocean but one of the great positives of this foundation is that it sets beautifully and feels not at all tacky to the touch so you can tell the difference between the product and any excess oil.
  • While it’s a thicker consistency than MPF, it’s still quite liquid-y so I recommend using either your fingers or a beauty sponge to apply. Today I used both fingers and a sponge which helped thicken up the coverage a lot. One layer is not enough.
  • Speaking of coverage — I don’t like that around my eyes and nose my freckles are still visible. I actually took a bit of MPF and blended it under my eyes with my sponge because I didn’t feel like the LFN foundation did anything for my dark circles (with poorly-ness comes great skin problems).
  • It didn’t react badly to having concealer placed underneath it or on top of it.
  • It’s a a smidge more yellow toned that MPF making it a slightly better match for my pale and sickly countenance.

ETA: I’ve had this on for zero point five seconds and my nose is already producing oil. This is not good. I have a couple of dry patches that it stuck to them as well but it was nothing too drastic. Oh and it in no way lasted 25 hours. To be honest, I think this foundation is probably best suited to people with less extreme skin types so the normal/combo/maybe even sensitive skin types might like this but for those of us with dry/oily skin might want to give it a miss.

Rating: 3 / 5 stars. I had a lot of expectations for this foundation and I’ll continue to work with it but I can’t say that it’s worth rushing to Boots or Superdrug to pick up.

3 thoughts on “Beauty: First Impressions of Rimmel’s Lasting Finish Nude Foundation.

  1. Arielle says:

    I love your blog, your posts are beautiful! I just followed you, it would be great if we can support each other 🙂 I am so glad I got to discover you ❤

    Like

    1. Rae says:

      Oh, bless you, your blog is so beautiful: clean and simple so that the photos really pop. Much cuter than my blog. I look forward to reading more of your posts. 🙂 ❤

      Like

Leave a Reply

