Beauty: Brow This Way.

Rimmel‘s Brow This Way in Medium Blonde, £2.99 (on offer) from Superdrug.

Brows frame the face so they’re pretty important. Lucky for me, I have pretty good eyebrows, a little shaping and I just need to lightly fill them in and set them. But given how important brows are, I haven’t really used that many products on them. Therefore when I saw Rimmel’s dupe for Benefit‘s Gimme Brow, I decided to grab it and give it ago, and honestly, it was not smooth sailing…

Number one pet peeve: I ordered medium brown and what I received was medium blonde. Apparently medium brown doesn’t actually exist as a colour.

Number two: you always have an excess of product on the mascara-esque brush. Whose eyebrows does this product think it’s combing out? Cousin It? I tend to pat the excess off with my finger or comb it out gently with a clean spoolie.

Number three: Possible deal breaker…it’s so warm toned it’s almost orange. I have to admit I’ve not used this solo. I actually used this in conjunction with the Sleek Brow Stylist in medium, which is already warm toned on its own, so together, especially in photos where cameras pick up red tones, I feel like I’ve been tangoed. But IRL (in real life), they look fine. The thing is, I dye my hair, which is naturally ashy, to a colour that has warm brown/gold undertones at the moment so I need a neutral brow shade* to fill in and match my eyebrows to my hair and this just doesn’t do it for me.

Number one best thing about this product: It does its job. It sticks down your hairs like a boss and I’ve yet to have a day where they’ve diverged.

Rating: 2.5 /5 stars. Despite all its perceived failings, I like this product, it does a good job. I would just like to see a redesign of the wand (make it smaller) and more neutral tones and ashier tones added to the range.

[*My ultimate brow combo is Natural Collection‘s matte eyeshadow in Crushed Walnut (£1.99 from Boots) and clear mascara from MUA (£1 from Superdrug).]

Leave a Reply

