Food: Tea time.

It’s no secret I don’t like to consume caffeine. I actually went a year without it and was just fine. However, I did miss my cup of morning breakfast tea, and I’ve been trying to find a herbal tea that replaces that ‘mmm aah’ that you get when you take your first sip since then. I’ve not found anything until now.

Okay, so technically chai tea is a black tea and has naturally occurring caffeine, but it is so much less than a cup of coffee (one third approx.), and for £2 in Sainsbury’s, it didn’t hurt me to try it.

I put the teabag in to my second favourite Starbucks mug and left it to steep while I finished my lunch (my Homemade Autumn Soup, which is delicious by the way, recipe coming soon). I left it for no more than 4 minutes though. I put in my standard 1 teaspoon of sweetener and had a taste. The aroma was so rich and kind of Christmas-y with the ginger, cardamom and cinnamon but I found it to be too bitter because it is a black tea, so I added another teaspoon of sweetener and a dash of soy milk. Then it was scrummy.

Rating: 4/5 stars. I would love to give this five stars but the caffeine element does take it down in my estimation. I’m someone who suffers the effects of caffeine quite acutely, both physically and mentally, so I do prefer to be free of it but I wouldn’t say no to a cup of this every so often. Definitely try it and make up your own mind!

Leave a Reply

